Skip to content

Weak After Week One

August 8, 2011

Today’s the first day of my second week in Germany. Here are a few observations I’ve made:

1. German towns spare no expense when it comes to landscaping. But be warned, with flowers come bees. Lots and lots of bees.

2. The moral implications of eating meat become more apparent when the word for meat is “Fleisch”. I am still reluctant to order a sandwich with tomato, cheese, and “pig flesh”.

3. German literature is difficult. I often find myself reaching for my dictionary. Here is a photo of the book I’m currently working through:

4. Life is more exhausting when I do not understand 90% of what is said to me. This makes the days feel significantly longer. Longer, even, than the sum of several days. I take this to support my fear that this year will go by very very quickly.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 8, 2011 20:46

    Oooh take pictures of your new surroundings for us! And the flowers, if the bees will let you take pictures! I don’t know German so I can’t judge your new series, but I’m sure you’re doing great at the language so far… I believe in you!

Leave a Reply

