Skip to content

Day 142

December 20, 2011

Today is my 142nd day in Europe. I spent it mostly playing with kids at a local kindergarten where I volunteer, whose name translates to “Magic Stars”. They are hilarious.

Why is 142 an important number? Well, in 2007 I studied abroad in Chile. I stayed there for a total of 141 days. That means today marks the longest I have ever been away from home! It also marked the first snow of the season, coincidentally. What’s the significance? I don’t know!

I wish I had done an “Aprendo to Talk Show” while in Chile. Then I could maybe compare my German today with my Spanish on July 17, 2007. But if I had to almost-arbitrarily assess my aptitudes over time right now… I would say that [SPANISH JULY 2011] > [SPANISH NOW] > [SPANISH JULY 2007] ≈ [GERMAN NOW] > [SPANISH FEBRUARY 2007] >> [GERMAN JULY 2011] = [SPANISH 1998].

May your days be merry and bright!

Leave a Reply

