Skip to content

The Lernen to Talk Show: Episode 25 – The Return of Kansas Kate!

February 17, 2012

Frankfurt (as seen by Clayton Wollner)

Never could I have foreseen, on that muggy Monday afternoon in August when I ventured into the Radolfzell Stadtgarten to talk about hippos and kayaks with the third ever guest on the Lernen to Talk Show, that that conversation would create the cultural phenomenon that it has. For a long time I ignored the manic pleas from viewers all around the world to have her back on the show. And then as their pleas turned to threats of violence, I pacified them with promises that she would one day return. Well, ladies and gentlemen, that day has come. The one and only Kansas Kate, most popular Lernen to Talk Show guest of all time with a whopping 219 views, is back! Frankfurt am Main will never be the same.

0:38 – It actually wasn’t “gestern”, it was “vorgestern”. But that’s not important. What is important, is that you can watch the video here! The show is called Wissen macht Ah!, or, “Knowledge Makes Ah!” A great name for a show, don’t you think?

0:48 – Or in Kate’s case, Wissen macht “Ah echt?”

0:55 – I bit off more than I could chew here. A correct way to say this would have been, Es gibt eine Theorie, das Hot Dogs früher einmal aus echten Hunden gemacht wurden.

1:00 – I say here “Ich weiss nicht, ob ich das vertrauen kann.” Little did I know, the word vertrauen, or “trust”, requires the dative case. So I should have said dem instead of “das”. Or I could have kept the “das” and switched my verb to glauben,  or “believe”, which requires the accusative “das”, and is less melodramatic.

1:04 – This mistake is so Episode 23. Didn’t need that “um” in there.

1:12 – I meant to say “Jessica Hippo conversation”. Unfortunately the words for “language” and “conversation” are about as similar to one another as Sprache and Gespräch.

1:14 – I also lied about how you say “lie”. It’s Lüge! Not Loge!

1:56 – Here’s what I meant to say: Weisst du eigentlich was für eine grosse Inspiration du für das Publikum bist? It’s just so hard to save those verbs for the end.

2:13 – I don’t know why I’m still trying to salvage this sentence…

3:01 – Spoonerismus! Of course!

3:11 – It’s true! I did!

3:44 – Should’ve gone with my instinct.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jeff permalink
    February 18, 2012 23:41

    A personal best!!

Leave a Reply

