Skip to content

Collect ’em All!

April 19, 2012

When I found out I was going to Germany, I half-seriously made it a goal to see all sixteen of the Bundesländer which make up the Bundesrepublik Deutschland. When I got to Germany, I made it a quite serious goal. As time has a serious habit of getting away from me, the goal has now settled in the realm of half-quite-seriousness. I’ve visited half of them so far, and I have much less than half of my time left to see the rest. But this weekend I’ll be making a very serious attempt to reinvigorate the goal as I journey to both Sachsen-Anhalt and Mecklenburg-Vorpommern! I’ll be visiting friends from the program in both Magdeburg and Rostock, and hopefully will get a look at the Baltic Sea!

Gotta love those natural boundaries.

In celebration of this jaunt, here is a haiku about each of the Bundesländer I’ve visited so far (in chronological order):

.

Hessen

Landings, a castle,

A launchpad, a meeting point.

Thanksgiving with friends.

.

.

.

Am Bodensee

.

.

Baden Württemberg

A family’s Geduld.

I miss those shores and also

Meinen kleinen Zug.

.

.

.

Bayern

Schön’s Wochenenden

To the consulate and back;

Oktober, a fest.

.

.

.

.

.

Nordrhein-Westfalen

Rainy foreign days

Give way to friendly faces.

Learning forever

.

.

.

.

.

.

Rheinland-Pfalz

Castle on the Rhine,

A Game of Thrones comes to life.

The Three Musketeers.

.

.

.

.

.

Hamburg

Fog and a nice home.

Klaun klaun äppel wolln wir klaun

Finkenwerder rules.

.

.

.

.

Niedersachsen

O Buxtehude,

Where no one believes I went.

First Autobahn ride.

.

.

.

.

Berlin

Brotherly visit,

History, Bach, and mayhem.

Close call on the train.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Lila Blondi permalink
    April 19, 2012 23:23

    Finkenwerder rules!

  2. Avital permalink
    April 20, 2012 00:15

    Like.🙂

  3. nostrovatus permalink
    April 20, 2012 02:47

    go, Mickey, go!

  4. April 20, 2012 08:36

    Mecklenburg-Vorpommern looks forward to welcoming you tomorrow. And you will certainly see the Baltic Sea

Trackbacks

  1. Please Allow Me To Introduce Myself | German Language Blog

Leave a Reply

