Skip to content

The Lernen to Talk Show: Episode 51 – DRadio Wissen!

July 3, 2013
Ganz gemütlich bei Deutschlandradio.

Ganz gemütlich bei Deutschlandradio.

Ladies and gentlemen, it’s good to be back. Monday night during my conversation at DRadio Wissen (GRadio Knowledge, for those of you playing along at home), I managed to sneak a quick episode of the Lernen to Talk Show in among the cool tunes and hot questions. Thilo was a great sport, going as far as coming around to the other side of the table to talk to me about remote controls, mattresses, and the urge to correct mistakes. It is perhaps the very first time a talk show was filmed during a radio show, so I hope you enjoy watching it as much as I enjoyed making it. Be sure to check out the radio show too, and skip to about halfway through to hear this episode as it was happening on the radio show! (Follow this link: http://wissen.dradio.de/sprache-lernen-to-talk.92.de.html?dram:article_id=251476 and go to the point where there’s about 29:40 remaining in the show.) It was a pretty surreal experience, filming a show within a show, but luckily nothing exploded during the meta-storm.

Thank you again for having me on the show Thilo! I had a blast. And thanks for being on my show! And to everyone who didn’t get to hear the show live, unfortunately the music I played isn’t in the archived stream/podcast. So I’ll just leave a few links for you here.

– Noch Niemals In New York” by Huss und Hodn

“I’m Looking Through You” by The Beatles

“Hate to Hold Hands” by Jet W. Lee

“Through the Holes in the Floor” by The Rutabega

– “Specimen” by Nate Henricks

“Words” by Piston Hurricane

0:35 – Once again: http://wissen.dradio.de/sprache-lernen-to-talk.92.de.html?dram:article_id=251476

0:40 – Better than “lassen” would have been the word erlauben, I think. It’s like the difference between “let” and “allow”.

1:05 – The look on my face is one of genuine effort.

1:25 – What does this say about our two languages? We English speakers use those little rectangles to “control” our television sets, while the Germans use them to “serve” theirs. We can’t both be right! One of us is delusional. Do we control our TV’s? Or do we meet their every whim as they wield the whip over our servitude?

1:38 – The result being what you’re reading right this instant.

2:03 – In the meantime I’ve re-uploaded Episode 1 and Episode 2 with subtitles, in case you’ve been wondering what I was saying way back when!

2:57 – Though we all know sometimes I got kinda lazy about that.

2:59 – Read: bad.

3:18 – He lobbed me a watermelon and I did not swing.

3:22 – Okay, this was a tough stretch to subtitle. Taschenfederkernmatratze is the German word for “pocket spring mattress“, a type of mattress which I admittedly did not know had a name in German or English. It also happens to be one of those classically epic compound words that we love to encounter so often in German. If broken up into its four pieces, it literally translates into “Bags-feather-kernel-mattress”. If any of you guys from the  Sauerstoff/oxygen discussion over at Episode 46 would be willing to give us all an etymology lesson here, that would be much appreciated.

3:49 – There’s a fun new word: herleiten means “deduce”.

4:47 – I like the Irish flag going on at the bottom of the screen… Good color choices, radio software programmers!

4:52 – Don’t let my “genau” fool you, I had no idea what the word Zischlaut meant. I don’t even know what its English translation, “sibilant”, means. But if you give me a minute, I’m sure I’ll be able to leiten it her.

4:58 – 5:04 – Officially my new favorite six seconds in Lernen to Talk Show history.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Avital permalink
    July 3, 2013 16:48

    Great episode — still loving it! And regarding the subtitles, I was beaming.🙂

    p.s. Below “Officially my new favorite six seconds in Lernen to Talk Show history” in your comments there is a mini video, which I thought was your favorite 6 seconds of the show. So, I watched it, but it was just an ad for Coca-Cola! I was super confused at first, but then I got what you meant, haha.

  2. Avital permalink
    July 3, 2013 16:53

    p.p.s. I like the Rutabega song! I wasn’t familiar with them before. Also, kudos to Jet W. Lee and Piston Hurricane for the international airplay!

    • July 4, 2013 14:56

      Awesome! Yes, I had that song stuck in my head since I heard it one time live on August 31st of last year… and now the album is finally out!

  3. acutia permalink
    July 4, 2013 14:34

    Here’s picky comment of the day: For time stamp 3:22 above you write “entomology lesson” what you’re looking for is, I believe, “etymology”.

    • July 4, 2013 14:40

      No way! I was hoping that someone would explain to me what type of insects are most often found in Taschenfederkernmatratzen… no just kidding, you’re totally right. Good catch.

  4. July 7, 2013 11:06

    Hey, I really hope you’d see this, I am just so so impressed by what you have done and you have really inspired me to track my own progress in learning German. I have posted 2 videos on YouTube, you can see it on my channel (I hope you do!😀 ) http://www.youtube.com/flybybutterflies
    I am currently at A2.2 now… I do hope to take the testDAF eventually.

    • July 7, 2013 14:27

      Hi Sophia,

      it makes me so happy to hear that you found inspiration in my project. Thanks so much for sharing your videos with me, too! I just watched your visit to the National Library. You have such a friendly personality! I especially liked getting to see Singapore from the elevator and then also the inside of the library. I’ve never actually seen what Singapore looks like before! Your German sounds good, but the most fun thing is to see how happy you seem when speaking it. Keep it up! I’m going to watch some of your lectures now too!

      Sincerely,
      Mickey

      • Sophia permalink
        July 7, 2013 15:10

        Hey Mickey, I am SO glad to hear from you. Do you have Facebook? Would love to be friends with you.🙂 My Facebook is https://www.facebook.com/flybybutterflies
        Oh, and please don’t watch those lectures, I did that a long time ago, feel quite embarrassed by it now. :p

      • July 7, 2013 15:49

        Haha don’t say that! Now I definitely have to watch the lectures! I don’t actually have Facebook, so I think the best way to be in touch would have to be with email. I’ll send you one!

    • Leeway permalink
      January 26, 2014 12:24

      Ach so, ein anderer Mensch aus Singapur, der Deutsch lernt!🙂

  5. July 16, 2013 22:29

    Ich hörte es im Radio und fand es toll! Und schwupps habe ich Deinen Blog abonniert.

    • August 1, 2013 18:00

      Hi Andreas! Das freut mich sehr! Es hat beim Radio super viel Spass gemacht. I will definitely check out your blog!

Leave a Reply

