Skip to content

4:20 mile in 11:45

July 30, 2016

 

So I still haven’t run that 5 minute mile. And I haven’t worked on it as hard as I said I would on September 20, 2014. But I still want to do it. I’m gonna try harder this time I swear.

On Wednesday I ran a 5:47. It certainly feels more intimidating to try and cut 47 seconds off my time than cutting 13 seconds seemed almost two years ago. I really should’ve done it then. I can’t even remember why I didn’t.

But now I will. For real.

Today I ran 400 meters 4 times. It went like this:

400 meters in 63 seconds. That’s faster than I need to be running for a 5-minute mile.

Rest 3 minutes 25 seconds. That’s more time than I can rest during a 5-minute mile.

400 meters in 63 seconds. Even after the big rest I was surprised I could do that again.

Rest 1 minute 35 seconds.

400 meters in 65 seconds.

Rest 2 minutes 25 seconds.

400 meters in 69 seconds.

So that adds up to 4 minutes and 20 seconds of running to cover a distance of 1600 meters aka 1 mile. The way I see it… this proves that I am able to run the instantaneous speed of a person running a 5-minute mile. I just can’t do it for 5 minutes. But I’ll get there.

75-second 400 meter splits. That’s what I gotta be able to do. So how about this? What if I just do 400 meter repeats at that pace, gradually reducing my rest between intervals until I’m not resting at all, thus fusing my 4 x 400 meters into 1 x 1600? Won’t that work? It’ll take a while, sure. But… I think that’s the key. So if tomorrow I slow down a little bit but also decrease the rest in between, I think I’ll have a more realistic sense of how much work it’ll take to get this thing down to 5 minutes.

Because what can I do with that data from today? Nothing, really. Unless I want to see how fast I can run a 400. Oh man, I don’t want to go down that road.

I gotta get a better stopwatch.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

